HSS and Tomcat

Posted: October 14, 2010 in technical
Tags: , , ,

Ok, it’s been a while, but I had a true headache today trying to determine Tomcat to accept connections from an IP other than 127.0.0.1. Eventually, I didn’t make it, against all the optimistic descriptions of the manager.xml, server.xml or connector.xml or whatever.

Therefore, I have installed vnc4server and connected to that machine via VNC so that I can open a browser and type in http://localhost:8080

My user on that machine (where I had installed OpenIMSCore) is named cristina. Therefore, the steps I have followed were:

1. Install vnc4server : apt-get install vnc4server

2. sued to cristina and edit the xstartup file, like this:

#!/bin/sh

# Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
unset SESSION_MANAGER
# exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

gnome-session &

[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
vncconfig -iconic &
# xterm -geometry 80×24+10+10 -ls -title “$VNCDESKTOP Desktop” &
twm &

Yes, I have GNOME, I hate GNOME,  but that’s what I have installed on this machine 🙂

3. Start the VNC server:

vncserver -geometry 1100×750 :1

Then used a UltraVNC client from Windows to connect to that machine on instance 1.

fhoss

This is what I see when accessing http://localhost:8080

 

From this web interface I can now configure the public and private user identities, charging policies and filtering and so on.

Leave a Reply

